· 

I will hold you in love, until the dawns of time

How Charlie Martin strives to love, as the infinitely flawed human which she is.

 

I will hold you in love, until the dawns of time...

 

When you are scared, I will hold you, I will love you, I will ask you what you are afraid of, so that we both might better understand your fears. So you can find your way through them, and I can do my best to support you in that endeavour.

 

I will listen, with care, compassion, and I will strive to understand your world, how things feel and seem from your world view.

 

I will wipe your tears, and remind you how special you are in so, so many ways. I will cherish the trust you put in me to let down your guard and cry. I might even notice how nice it is to be the kind of person who can freely give this kind of love.

 

How much I enjoy being able to support you, the person I love makes me feel worthy, makes up for all my many many imperfections.

 

I will hold you while you cry like a baby, I will lie next to you while you wonder what's the point of life? Or, on brighter days, what's the meaning of life? And is it to make the world a little tinsy bit brighter for another human, somewhere?

 

I will laugh with you until our sides hurt and we can't breathe, and one of us has to reach for their inhaler. I will drink in the joy I see in your eyes, I will bask in that beauty and enjoy being there with you

 

I will defend and protect you, translate for you with the wider world. I will be patient when what you said isn't what you meant.

 

I will forgive you all the times you hurt me, for hurt me you will, you are human. But I will not forgive you for things you could have prevented, had you taken responsibility for yourself, your own stuff, and done the work needed to heal.

 

I will remind myself, that my being hurt does not equate to love, and if I really loved you, I would not allow you to continually hurt me.

I will love you enough to walk away...